Be the Dinosaur has been developed in collaboration with renowned paleontologists and interactivity experts

Professor John R. Hutchinson,
Chief Advisor, Be the Dinosaur

Professor Hutchinson utilizing “Be the Dinosaur” simulation in one of his lectures

Professor Hutchinson utilizing “Be the Dinosaur” simulation in one of his lectures


Professor Hutchinson is the 2012 recipient of the Charles Darwin award and presented the Be the Dinosaur simulation to the audience during his acceptance lecture because the simulation embodied and served as an example for so much of his research. Dr. Hutchinson is an American biologist in the UK. He gained a B.S. degree in Zoology at the University of Wisconsin in 1993, then received a Ph.D. in Integrative Biology at the University of California with Kevin Padian in 2001, He rounded out his training with a two-year National Science Foundation bioinformatics Post Doc at the Biomechanical Engineering Division of Stanford University with Scott Delp.

John started at the Royal Veterinary College as a Lecturer in Evolutionary Biomechanics in 2003 in the Department of Veterinary Basic Sciences (now Department of Comparative Biomedical Sciences), in 2008 became a Reader, and in 2011 became a full Professor.

Prof. Hutchinson is an Associate Editor for Proceedings B of the Royal Society, the Journal of Theoretical Biology, the new open access journal PeerJ and ISRN Evolutionary Biology journal. He is also a Fellow of the Linnean Society of London and of the Society of Biology. From 2012-2013 he is doing a sabbatical as a Royal Society Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellow, but still based at the RVC.


Paleontology Advisors:

  • Dr. James O. Farlow, Ph.D., Professor of Geology, Indiana Purdue University

  • Thomas Holtz, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer, Vertebrate Paleontology, Department of Geology, University of Maryland

  • Dr. J. Michael Parrish, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Biological Sciences, Northern Illinois University

  • Dr. Dale. A. Russell, Ph.D., Senior Curator of Paleontology, NC Museum of Natural History

  • Manabu Sakamoto, Ph. D., Department of Earth Sciences, University of Bristol, U.K.

Interactivity Advisors

  • Eugene P. Jarvis, A software pioneer and world famous designer of interactive entertainment. Recipient of the International Game Developer’s Assoc. Lifetime Achievement Award.

  • Kathleen Gareiss, Senior Partner, Executive Director of Project Management & Interactive Operations, Ogilvy Interactive

Visitor Studies/Museum Advisors:

  • Scott Alvey, Director of Visitor Interaction, Louisville Science Center 1992-2008.

  • Dr. Rob Ross, Ph.D., Education Director, Paleontological Research Institute and the Museum of the Earth

  • John Kelton, Exhibit Designer and Fabricator, SCS Exhibit Services, Huntsville, Alabama

  • Ronald Ross, Director of Alumni Affairs, Drew University, Board of Directors, Liberty Science Center (for Gov. Thomas H. Kean)

  • L. Scott Miller, Executive Director of the Consortium on Higher Academic Performance, Graduate School of Education, U.C. Berkeley


BTD | Exhibit Details


BTD | What paleontologists say